Beetle & the Hollowbones (Kobo eBook)

Beetle & the Hollowbones Cover Image
$9.99
Available Now

Description


An enchanting, riotous, and playfully illustrated debut graphic novel following a young goblin trying to save her best friend from the haunted mall—perfect for fans of Steven Universe and Adventure Time.

In the eerie town of ‘Allows, some people get to be magical sorceresses, while other people have their spirits trapped in the mall for all ghastly eternity.

Then there’s twelve-year-old goblin-witch Beetle, who’s caught in between. She’d rather skip being homeschooled completely and spend time with her best friend, Blob Glost. But the mall is getting boring, and B.G. is cursed to haunt it, tethered there by some unseen force. And now Beetle’s old best friend, Kat, is back in town for a sorcery apprenticeship with her Aunt Hollowbone. Kat is everything Beetle wants to be: beautiful, cool, great at magic, and kind of famous online. Beetle’s quickly being left in the dust.

But Kat’s mentor has set her own vile scheme in motion. If Blob Ghost doesn’t escape the mall soon, their afterlife might be coming to a very sticky end. Now, Beetle has less than a week to rescue her best ghost, encourage Kat to stand up for herself, and confront the magic she’s been avoiding for far too long. And hopefully ride a broom without crashing.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781534441552
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: August 3rd, 2020
Language:

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Okay folks, get ready for one of the MOST PERFECT GRAPHIC NOVELS EVER. This book felt like such a gift when I read it. Our main character Snapdragon stumbles into what she believes is the lair of the local evil witch-- turns out the local witch is a fantastically chill, cool, older lady named Jacks who ends up taking Snapdragon on as her apprentice. Together they discover friendship, learn amazing new kinds of magic, and uncover age-old love stories that may yet be fulfilled. The diverse representation in this book is SO stellar, and honestly this book brings me to joyful tears every time! Snapdragon is also a great example of the power of the graphic novel storytelling format--what a stunning piece of work!

(Graphic Novel, Ages 9+) - reviewed by Isabel