Popular Preorders

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


“Namina Forna Could Be The Toni Morrison Of YA Fantasy.”–Refinery 29 

"The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks Forna as a debut to watch." --Kiersten White, New York Times betselling author of And I Darken 

The start of a bold and immersive West African-inspired, feminist fantasy series for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice.


Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in fear and anticipation of the blood ceremony that will determine whether she will become a member of her village. Already different from everyone else because of her unnatural intuition, Deka prays for red blood so she can finally feel like she belongs.

But on the day of the ceremony, her blood runs gold, the color of impurity–and Deka knows she will face a consequence worse than death.

Then a mysterious woman comes to her with a choice: stay in the village and submit to her fate, or leave to fight for the emperor in an army of girls just like her. They are called alaki–near-immortals with rare gifts. And they are the only ones who can stop the empire's greatest threat.

Knowing the dangers that lie ahead yet yearning for acceptance, Deka decides to leave the only life she's ever known. But as she journeys to the capital to train for the biggest battle of her life, she will discover that the great walled city holds many surprises. Nothing and no one are quite what they seem to be–not even Deka herself.

About the Author


Namina Forna has a MFA in film and TV production from USC School of Cinematic Arts and a BA from Spelman College. She now works as a screenwriter in LA and loves telling stories with fierce female leads. The Gilded Ones is her debut novel. Visit her on twitter at @NaminaForna and on Instagram at @namina.forna.

Praise For…


“Fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Mulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one.” —BuzzFeed


Product Details
ISBN: 9781984848697
ISBN-10: 1984848690
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: May 26th, 2020
Pages: 432
Series: Deathless

Boredom Busters for Kids!

Share Your Smile: Raina's Guide to Telling Your Own Story Cover Image
Jumbo Pad of Word Puzzles (Highlights Jumbo Books & Pads) Cover Image
60-Second Puzzles (Highlights Fun to Go) Cover Image
101 Kids Activities that are the Ooey, Gooey-est Ever!: Nonstop Fun with DIY Slimes, Doughs and Moldables Cover Image
Paint by Sticker Kids: Beautiful Bugs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time! Cover Image
Scratch & Sketch Animal Dot-To-Dot Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Oh, boy... I'm getting emotional as I write this because... I love this book... SO. MUCH. I LOVE this book with alll my heart... OH MY GOSH heart.

In The Song of Achilles, we get to see a retelling of the Trojan War from the perspective of young prince Patroclus, but what unfolds is a love story between Patroclus and the legendary Achilles that will sweep you away, steal your heart, and make you ache witht he best pain imaginable.

I literally re-read this book every fre months. IF you want a hauntingly beautiful book that will fill you with joy and heartach and last you a lifetime, this is it. I owe Madeline Miller my life. - Isabel