Everyone Gets A Book A catalog of recommendations from your local independent bookstore

Popular Preorders

Saving Winslow (Compact Disc)

Saving Winslow Cover Image
$21.99
Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Fall 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“Louie loves animals, but just doesn't seem to have the knack for taking care of them — too many carnival animals have not survived his loving care. So when his father brings home a newborn miniature donkey, Louie's parents tell him not to get his hopes up that the little guy will survive the night, let alone thrive. Louie's determination that Winslow will be okay, the new friendships he makes, and his belief that one person can make a difference makes for a wonderful story.”
— Debbie Buck, Vintage Books, Vancouver, WA

Description


"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781982554408
ISBN-10: 1982554401
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 11th, 2018
Language: English

Exciting new signed books!

Staff Pick Badge
Penny and Her Sled Cover Image
Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns #2) Cover Image
Legacy (Keeper of the Lost Cities #8) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Call Down the Hawk (The Dreamer Trilogy, Book 1) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation Cover Image
Dinosaur Yoga Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

God, I LOOOOVE this book!!!! Rainbow Rowell never disappoints. Plot-wise, this book is fresh and new and always surprising. Similar to Harry Potter, the characters in this book attend a school for magical learning, but instead, the magical system is all based around words, phrases, adn the power of language. a completely fresh and fascinating type of magic, one that us book lovers can all appreciate, huh? But the BEST part of this book is the romance, one that ignites the book and the heart of the reader, both. (I was, if we're being hones here, shrieking in joy a LOT while reading this book.) So. GOOD!!! - Isabel