Popular Preorders

Saving Winslow (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Saving Winslow Cover Image
$32.99
Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This delightful family read aloud skillfully weaves empathy, compassion and family into a beautifully realized story – universal and timeless – I dare say a new classic, in the mold of Charlotte’s Web (without the talking animals). Ten-year old Louie is trying his best to save a mini-donkey, he named Winston, who was born prematurely and whose mother died giving birth. Louie’s track record is not so good at keeping animals in his care alive, but he has faith in Winslow and gives him everything he has – most especially his love. Louie is sure Winslow will survive, and uses his plight as connection to his older brother Gus’ absence serving in the army. Strong, fully developed characters come to life in Creech’s vividly, and deceptively short novel which will stay with you long after the satisfying last page.

— From Staff Picks by Maureen

Saving Winslow captures an innocence and steadfast belief in miracles that are real and close at hand. Louie is determined to save the sick miniature donkey even though his past animal endeavors haven't turned out well. But he names him Winslow to show that he will survive and with the help of his family and some unexpected sources, maybe miracles can come true. A beautiful book for a family to enjoy together as a read aloud. 

— From Staff Picks by Jessica

Fall 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“Louie loves animals, but just doesn't seem to have the knack for taking care of them — too many carnival animals have not survived his loving care. So when his father brings home a newborn miniature donkey, Louie's parents tell him not to get his hopes up that the little guy will survive the night, let alone thrive. Louie's determination that Winslow will be okay, the new friendships he makes, and his belief that one person can make a difference makes for a wonderful story.”
— Debbie Buck, Vintage Books, Vancouver, WA

Description


Indie Next List Pick - ALA Notable Children's Book - Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner

"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

"This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web and Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie." --School Library Journal (starred review)

"Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie's hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow's strength." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming--the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable." --Horn Book (starred review)



Product Details
ISBN: 9781982554392
ISBN-10: 1982554398
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 11th, 2018
Language: English

Boredom Busters for Kids!

Share Your Smile: Raina's Guide to Telling Your Own Story Cover Image
Jumbo Pad of Word Puzzles (Highlights Jumbo Books & Pads) Cover Image
60-Second Puzzles (Highlights Fun to Go) Cover Image
101 Kids Activities that are the Ooey, Gooey-est Ever!: Nonstop Fun with DIY Slimes, Doughs and Moldables Cover Image
Paint by Sticker Kids: Beautiful Bugs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time! Cover Image
Scratch & Sketch Animal Dot-To-Dot Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Jason Reynolds and Dr. Ibram X Kendi have made the perfect NOT history book for everyone hesitant/curious/eager/desperate to learn what it means to be an anti-racist. There are dates, there are names, there are facts, but mostly there is reflection. Policies, media, moments, are all looked at in a way that traces the lines of thought to action and in-action asking us to laugh, cry, pause, rage, and fight against racist and assimilationist thought. Approachable, engaging, and necessary, this is a book that will make change. - review by Jessica