Popular Preorders

Gloria Takes a Stand: How Gloria Steinem Listened, Wrote, and Changed the World (Hardcover)

Gloria Takes a Stand: How Gloria Steinem Listened, Wrote, and Changed the World Cover Image
By Jess Rinker, Daria Peoples-Riley (Illustrator)
$17.99
Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Perfect for fans of I Dissent comes an inspirational and empowering account of the life of women's rights icon Gloria Steinem.

As a young girl, Gloria Steinem thought for herself and spoke her mind. She read many books by her favorite authors and imagined herself as the heroine of the story.

Gloria wished. She read. And imagined.

But Gloria grew up during a time when women were not encouraged, or even allowed, to do a lot of the things men could do: go to college, get a job, open a bank account, and more. There were restrictions that made it impossible for women to be independent or equal to men. So, Gloria set out to change that . . .

Gloria listened. She watched. And wrote.
Gloria believed. She marched. And dreamed.

From unconventional childhood, to Smith College, to Ms. magazine, to the women's liberation movement, to feminist icon--Gloria Takes a Stand brings to the page a spirited look at Gloria Steinem's influential life, energizing a new generation of feminists to stand up and demand equal rights for all people.

About the Author


Jess Rinker always wanted to find treasure as a child. In the woods or on the beach, she was constantly hunting for something, and when she first visited the Outer Banks of North Carolina at fourteen she discovered the incredible history there was a treasure in itself. She could never be a pirate because she gets seasick, but writing about pirates has been quite fun. She’s now a children’s author and writing teacher, and she still searches for treasures. The Dare Sisters is her first middle grade novel.

Praise For…


“A great read for younger kids who want to be inspired to make positive change in the world. Pair it with Debbie Levy's I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her Mark. . . . An excellent picture book biography about a courageous activist, advocate, and leader.” —School Library Journal

“Filled with bright pop art and thought-provoking images, patterns, and styles that transform as the years pass, Gloria's story will inspire a new generation to follow their dreams and fight for equality.” —Foreword Reviews

“A tribute to feminist icon, activist, and writer Gloria Steinem. . . . Engaging.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Give[s] a new generation background into Gloria Steinem's life and influence.” —School Library Connection

“Adding to the growing, yet still needed, #MeToo books for young readers . . . Textured and digitally enhanced mixed-media illustrations evoke the diversity she celebrated.” —Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9781681196763
ISBN-10: 168119676X
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books
Publication Date: March 12th, 2019
Pages: 48
Language: English

Boredom Busters for Kids!

Share Your Smile: Raina's Guide to Telling Your Own Story Cover Image
Escape This Book! Tombs of Egypt Cover Image
60-Second Puzzles (Highlights Fun to Go) Cover Image
101 Kids Activities that are the Ooey, Gooey-est Ever!: Nonstop Fun with DIY Slimes, Doughs and Moldables Cover Image
USA Word Search Puzzles Cover Image
Scratch & Sketch Enchanted Forest Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Mindy Mejia owns the space of taut, tightly woven plotted thrillers and Strike Me Down is just that. Contemporary Twin Cities-locale, with fitness/MMA brand called Strike, Mejia's forensic accountant Nora Trier is to find a multi-million dollar company thief. The multiple perspectives Mejia employs circles this edge of your seat tale and then doubles back to throw you in a new direction. Wow -- this is one stunning thriller. - review by Maureen