Popular Preorders

Barakah Beats (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Barakah Beats Cover Image
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


For fans of The First Rule of Punk and Save Me a Seat, Barakah Beats is a sweet, powerful, and joyous novel about a Muslim girl who finds her voice on her own terms... by joining her school's most popular boy band.

Twelve-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic school, but now it's time to go to "real school."

Nimra's nervous, but as long as she has Jenna, her best friend who already goes to the public school, she figures she can take on just about anything.

Unfortunately, middle school is hard. The teachers are mean, the schedule is confusing, and Jenna starts giving hijab-wearing Nimra the cold shoulder around the other kids.

Desperate to fit in and get back in Jenna's good graces, Nimra accepts an unlikely invitation to join the school's popular 8th grade boy band, Barakah Beats. The only problem is, Nimra was taught that music isn't allowed in Islam, and she knows her parents would be disappointed if they found out. So she devises a simple plan: join the band, win Jenna back, then quietly drop out before her parents find out.

But dropping out of the band proves harder than expected. Not only is her plan to get Jenna back working, but Nimra really likes hanging out with the band -- they value her contributions and respect how important her faith is to her. Then Barakah Beats signs up for a talent show to benefit refugees, and Nimra's lies start to unravel. With the show only a few weeks away and Jenna's friendship hanging in the balance, Nimra has to decide whether to betray her bandmates -- or herself.

About the Author


Maleeha Siddiqui is a first-generation Pakistani-American Muslim living in Virginia. When she isn't writing, she can be found working at a biotech company or hanging out with her family. Barakah Beats is based on her own experiences growing up in America as a young practicing Muslim.

Praise For…


Advance praise for Barakah Beats:

"Nimra is just the heroine middle-school readers are searching for." -- Saadia Faruqi, author of A Thousand Questions

"Finally! A story about a young Muslim girl trying to fit in while also staying true to her values, beliefs, family, and culture. Sweet and relatable -- I couldn’t put it down!" -- Huda Fahmy, creator of Huda F Are You?

"This book should come with a warning label—you won’t be able to stop reading once you start! I tumble-down fell in love." -- Wendy Wan-Long Shang, author of Not Your All-American Girl (co-authored with Madelyn Rosenberg)

"This lively, heartfelt book hits all the right notes." -- Rajani LaRocca, author of Red, White, and Whole



Product Details
ISBN: 9781338702064
ISBN-10: 1338702068
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: October 19th, 2021
Pages: 288
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

OMG - this is a fantastic book that will make you hum along with all the musical legends depicted here in stunning photos shot by pioneering music photographer Sherry Rayn Barnett.  In my younger years, I was a paid musician with dreams of becoming the next Carole King and/or Linda Ronstadt.  Sherry's photos of these women, along with Carly Simon, Nina Simone, Bonnie Raitt and so so many others bring alive the music scene of both NYC and LA during 1969 - 1989.  A who's who of early images of greatness -- mostly at live concerts -- of Janice Joplan, Prince, and Ronstadt (to name a few).  I LOVE this book and it would make a terrific gift to someone who enjoyed the music, who wanted to be a famous rock'n'roll star, or anyone interested in early pop / folk/country music history, especially women artists.  Sherry's pictures capture the essence of many of these artists.  We have signed copies, while supplies last.