Popular Preorders

Silver Batal: Race for the Dragon Heartstone (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Silver Batal: Race for the Dragon Heartstone Cover Image
By K. D. Halbrook, Ilse Gort (Illustrator)
$7.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Silver Batal series.


Description


Silver Batal and her beloved water dragon Hiyyan continue their adventures across the sea and skies in Silver Batal: Race for the Dragon Heartstone, a middle-grade fantasy adventure from K.D. Halbrook with illustrations by Ilse Gort.

Silver Batal and her best friend, Hiyyan, have narrowly escaped the greedy clutches of Queen Imea. With the queen’s trackers hot on their tails, Silver and Hiyyan head into an exciting frozen world filled with ferocious ice dragons, new friends, and new foes.

But when Hiyyan suffers a poisonous bite from a deadly dragon, Silver must find a legendary dragon heartstone to heal him. Their search leads to the mysterious Keep, the home of the reclusive and mysterious Watchers, where nothing is quite as it appears...

Perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Sayantani DasGupta, this thrilling follow-up to Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races will capture your heart.

About the Author


K. D. Halbrook grew up in California, surrounded by the gorgeous art, food, family bonds, and Lebanese American family quirks that inspired the world of Silver Batal. She’s also the author of the middle-grade novel Smoke and Mirrors, as well as several young adult titles under the name Kristin Halbrook. She currently resides in Seattle with her family.

Praise For…


Praise for Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races:

“An imaginative delight.” —Sayantani DasGupta, New York Times–bestselling author of the Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond series

“Silver and her dragon, Hiyyan, will race into your heart.” —Kamilla Benko, author of the Unicorn Quest series.

“Nonstop adventure and a brilliantly realized world—I never wanted to leave Silver’s side!” —Amie Kaufman, New York Times–bestselling author of Elementals: Ice Wolves

“A fun, fast-paced adventure with an engaging supporting cast in which young fantasy lovers will delight.” —Booklist

“Hand this to the Rick Riordan crowd, or to kids who like Tui Sutherland’s Wings of Fire series.” —School Library Journal

“A rip-roaring adventure. Halbrook’s worldbuilding includes a rich taxonomy of water dragons who are fully realized, with emotions, loyalty, and aspirations.” —Kirkus



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250791764
ISBN-10: 1250791766
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: August 17th, 2021
Pages: 256
Series: Silver Batal

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

In this season of strong, brave women, Maureen's absolute favorite memoir - Rough Magic by Lara Prior-Palmer - is not to be missed. It's about Lara's naiveté in trying to win the grueling, soul-wrenching World's Loneliest Horse Race in Mongolia, with nary a thought of preparation. This is for fans of Cherly Strayand's Wild and MacDonald's H is for Hawk and is writing at it's finest! - Review by Maureen