Popular Preorders

The Trouble with Penguins (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Trouble with Penguins Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


A roasted marshmallow opens this delightful new friendship story. Atmospheric illustrations beautifully compliment this warm-hearted story of community and sharing. Perfect for fans of marshmallows, penguins, and of course best friends!

— From Staff Picks by Jessica

Description


On the day the penguin discovered the person, everything changed.

The person was happy to see the penguin, and showed it how to roast marshmallows by the fire. When it was time for the penguin to go, she gave it her favorite roasting stick and a warm hug goodbye.

Once the penguin showed its penguin friends how to roast marshmallows, they all wanted a turn. It was wonderful…until it wasn’t.

You see, the trouble with penguins is that they don't always know how to say they're sorry. But, with a little help and teamwork, they discover sharing is always the best tactic.


For fans of Oliver Jeffers, Jon Klassen, and Jory John comes a clever, irreverent debut picture book about an unlikely friendship between a penguin and a human that emphasizes the importance of sharing, patience, and, above all, friendship.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250208484
ISBN-10: 1250208483
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: November 3rd, 2020
Pages: 40

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

This delightful family read aloud skillfully weaves empathy, compassion and family into a beautifully realized story – universal and timeless – I dare say a new classic, in the mold of Charlotte’s Web (without the talking animals). Ten-year old Louie is trying his best to save a mini-donkey, he named Winston, who was born prematurely and whose mother died giving birth. Louie’s track record is not so good at keeping animals in his care alive, but he has faith in Winslow and gives him everything he has – most especially his love. Louie is sure Winslow will survive, and uses his plight as connection to his older brother Gus’ absence serving in the army. Strong, fully developed characters come to life in Creech’s vividly, and deceptively short novel which will stay with you long after the satisfying last page. - Maureen