Popular Preorders

Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer Cover Image
$10.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


This middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Roller Girl and Smile introduces Jamila and Shirley, two unlikely friends who save each other's summers while solving their neighborhood's biggest mysteries.

Jamila Waheed is staring down a lonely summer in a new neighborhood--until she meets Shirley Bones. Sure, Shirley's a little strange, but both girls need a new plan for the summer, and they might as well become friends.

Then this kid Oliver shows up begging for Shirley's help. His pet gecko has disappeared, and he's sure it was stolen! That's when Jamila discovers Shirley's secret: She's the neighborhood's best kid detective, and she's on the case. When Jamila discovers she's got some detective skills of her own, a crime-solving partnership is born.

The mystery of the missing gecko turns Shirley and Jamila's summer upside down. And when their partnership hits a rough patch, they have to work together to solve the greatest mystery of all: What it means to be a friend.

About the Author


Gillian Goerz is a Canadian illustrator, writer, and cartoonist. Her illustrations can be found in books such as Ryan North's choosable path adventures To Be or Not to Be and Romeo and/or Juliet. Her comics have been seen in The Walrus, Descant Magazine, and the Humber Literary Review with frequent collaborator and award-winning author Mariko Tamaki. CBC Books named Gillian's autobiographical comic "a highlight" of the anthology The Secret Loves of Geek Girls. She lives in Toronto, Canada.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780525552864
ISBN-10: 0525552863
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: July 14th, 2020
Pages: 224

Boredom Busters for Kids!

Share Your Smile: Raina's Guide to Telling Your Own Story Cover Image
Jumbo Pad of Word Puzzles (Highlights Jumbo Books & Pads) Cover Image
60-Second Puzzles (Highlights Fun to Go) Cover Image
101 Kids Activities that are the Ooey, Gooey-est Ever!: Nonstop Fun with DIY Slimes, Doughs and Moldables Cover Image
Paint by Sticker Kids: Beautiful Bugs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time! Cover Image
Scratch & Sketch Animal Dot-To-Dot Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

The Smoke Thieves slowly drew me in until I couldn't put it down. The strong voices and the fact that the stories don't seem like one until you realize that they have become one. The plot was fast and entertaining. I loved this book and would recommend it to anybody who loves medieval fantasies. - Kaitlyn, customer age 13