Popular Preorders

We Free the Stars (Sands of Arawiya #2) (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
We Free the Stars (Sands of Arawiya #2) Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Sands of Arawiya series.


Description


The follow-up to the New York Times bestselling novel We Hunt the Flame!

After the battle on Sharr that closed We Hunt the Flame, Zafira and Nasir return to a ghostly Sultan’s Keep, low on resources and allies alike. The dark forest has fallen, but the kingdom teems with fear of the Lion of the Night’s return. As Nasir fights to command the dark power in his blood, Zafira fights against a very different darkness festering through her bond with the Jawarat.

The second book in the Sands of Arawiya duology, by the masterful Hafsah Faizal.

About the Author


Hafsah Faizal is the New York Times bestselling author of We Hunt the Flame, and the founder of IceyDesigns, where she creates websites for authors and beauteous goodies for everyone else. When she’s not writing, she can be found designing, deciding between Assassin’s Creed and Skyrim, or traversing the world.

Born in Florida and raised in California, she now resides in Texas with her family and a library of books waiting to be devoured.

Praise For…


Praise for We Hunt the Flame:

“Drawing inspiration from ancient Arabia, We Hunt the Flame gives exquisitely detailed insight into a cultural experience; this debut, about identity and unlikely allies, features subtly nuanced and deeply reflective characters. Layering high-stakes action with moods ranging from casual humor to raw anguish, Faizal bends fantasy tropes to her will to tell a fresh and gripping story about love, honor, and self-discovery that will leave readers scrambling for more.” —Booklist, starred review

“Faizal matches a sweeping, ancient Arabian setting of shifting sand dunes, crumbling ruins, and fickle magic with an engrossing tale of political intrigue and human and divine warring powers. That sense of epicness, however, is carefully grounded by her deeply flawed, morally conflicted, and endlessly fascinating characters; as individuals, they are each interesting, but it’s the developing dynamic among the group that is truly compelling. . .Fans of Bardugo’s Six of Crows or Chokshi’s The Star-Touched Queen will be thrilled with the book’s impressive world building, stellar cast, and intricate story.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

“Lyrical and filled with adventure, a slow-burn romance, and an unforgettable cast of characters in a world based on ancient Arabia, this is a debut series not to be missed. . .Fans of Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes and Tomi Adeyemi’s Children of Blood and Bone should get excited for their next obsession.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

“Faizal builds a world of immense detail and complexity. Readers smell the different foods in the marketplace and begin to understand the many layers of each culture in Arawiya. . .Faizal explores the strength of an independent female character in a world that silences women. As a result, Zafira’s courage will teach readers the power of the human spirit.” —VOYA, starred review

“Debut author Faizal paints a vivid world, inspired by ancient Arabia and its mythology, that will appeal to fantasy and romance readers as well as fans of the Assassin's Creed video games. . .An appealing spin on traditional fantasy elements.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Hafsah Faizal creates a dazzling and beautiful world that will make you not want to put this book down.” —Seventeen Magazine

“Faizal’s strong debut develops its engaging premise with evocative worldbuilding and memorable characters. . .Lush descriptions of setting and food offer a vivid atmosphere, and the slow-brewing romance is an engaging contrast to the harrowing emotional and physical journey at the heart of the story.” —Publishers Weekly

Hafsah Faizal's writing is so lush and evocative that We Hunt the Flame is gripping right from the first page.” —PopSugar



Product Details
ISBN: 9780374311575
ISBN-10: 0374311579
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication Date: January 19th, 2021
Pages: 464
Series: Sands of Arawiya

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

There is one VERY important piece of information to know before you read this book: Dragons HATE spicy salsa. They love tacos, but under NO circumstances can you give them spicy salsa….. So when you’re throwing a Taco Party for a group of dragons, keep this important information in mind. Dragons Love Tacos is the story of when that mistake is made….UH-OH. This book is ridiculously funny and a fantastic read-aloud for all…as long as you keep the spicy salsa away from any dragons!!!

And of course, don’t miss the sequel, Dragons Love Tacos 2!

(Picture Book) - reviewed by Isabel