Everyone Gets A Book A catalog of recommendations from your local independent bookstore

Popular Preorders

The Art of Racing in the Rain: A Novel (Paperback)

The Art of Racing in the Rain: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Dec 13 6:15pm
(Adult Fiction)

Indie Next List Highlights 2008


“Sometimes, if you are very lucky, fate gives you a special friend. Denny's friend Enzo will stand by him through some of the best and worst times of his life, his faith in Denny bone deep. Enzo is a dog, a dog with a very old soul. Denny is a race driver with natural talent, but sometimes life gets in the way of natural talent, and the road can have sharp bends. Suffused with humor, love, pain, and valor, this should be one of the year's best books!”
— Deon Stonehouse, Sunriver Books, Sunriver, OR

Description


NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE FROM FOX 2000 STARRING MILO VENTIMIGLIA, AMANDA SEYFRIED, AND KEVIN COSTNER

MEET THE DOG

WHO WILL SHOW THE WORLD

HOW TO BE HUMAN

The New York Times bestselling novel from Garth Stein—a heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope—a captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life . . . as only a dog could tell it.

“Splendid.” —People

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that compassion isn’t only for humans, and that the relationship between two souls who are meant for each other never really comes to an end. Every now and then I’m lucky enough to read a novel I can’t stop thinking about: this is one of them.” —Jodi Picoult

“It’s impossible not to love Enzo.” —Minneapolis Star Tribune

“This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book.” —Sara Gruen

About the Author


Garth Stein is the author of Enzo Races in the Rain!, based on the New York Times bestselling novel The Art of Racing in the Rain (and its tween adaptation, Racing in the Rain). His other works include A Sudden Light, How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets, Raven Stole the Moon, and a play, Brother Jones. He is the cofounder of Seattle7Writers.org, a nonprofit collective of sixty-two Northwest authors dedicated to fostering a passion for the written word. Garth lives in Seattle with his family and his dog, Comet.

Praise For…


“One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach’s Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, and Yann Martel’s Life of Pi.”
Portland Oregonian

“Splendid.”
People (3 ½ out of 4 stars)

“Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice.”
Entertainment Weekly

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn’t only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end.”
— Jodi Picoult

The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and—most especially—the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book.”
— Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants

“The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human.”
— Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants

“I savored Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and--best of all--the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair.”
— Wally Lamb, Author of She's Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True


Product Details
ISBN: 9780061537967
ISBN-10: 0061537969
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: May 22nd, 2018
Pages: 336
Language: English

Exciting new signed books!

Staff Pick Badge
Penny and Her Sled Cover Image
Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns #2) Cover Image
Legacy (Keeper of the Lost Cities #8) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Call Down the Hawk (The Dreamer Trilogy, Book 1) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation Cover Image
Dinosaur Yoga Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Charming! Adorable! Scrumptious! I loved the show the illustrations and text put on with the fun food costumes. A great book for picky eaters and food lovers alike! - Jessica