Popular Preorders

To Best the Boys (Hardcover)

To Best the Boys Cover Image
$17.99
Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Perfect for fans of The Scorpio Races and Caraval, To Best the Boys is a new fantasy novel from the beloved and bestselling author of the Storm Siren trilogy, Mary Weber.

"To Best the Boys is an addicting read." --JODI MEADOWS, New York Times bestselling author of The Incarnate Trilogy and coauthor of My Lady Jane

The task is simple: Don a disguise.Survive the labyrinth.Best the boys.

In a thrilling new fantasy from the bestselling author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, one girl makes a stand against society and enters a world made exclusively for boys.

Every year for the past fifty-four years, the residents of Pinsbury Port have received a mysterious letter inviting all eligible-aged boys to compete for an esteemed scholarship to the all-male Stemwick University. The poorer residents look to see if their names are on the list. The wealthier look to see how likely their sons are to survive. And Rhen Tellur opens it to see if she can derive which substances the ink and parchment are created from, using her father's microscope.

In the province of Caldon, where women train in wifely duties and men pursue collegiate education, sixteen-year-old Rhen Tellur wants nothing more than to become a scientist. As the poor of her seaside town fall prey to a deadly disease, she and her father work desperately to find a cure. But when her mum succumbs to it as well? Rhen decides to take the future into her own hands--through the annual all-male scholarship competition.

With her cousin, Seleni, by her side, the girls don disguises and enter Mr. Holm's labyrinth, to best the boys and claim the scholarship prize. Except not everyone is ready for a girl who doesn't know her place. And not everyone survives the deadly maze.

Welcome to the labyrinth.

"Atmospheric, romantic, inspiring." --KRISTEN CICCARELLI, internationally bestselling author of The Last Namsara

A "Hunger Games/Handmaid's Tale mash-up." --BN Teen Blog



Product Details
ISBN: 9780718080969
ISBN-10: 0718080963
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Publication Date: March 19th, 2019
Pages: 336
Language: English

Spring into a new story!

Croc & Turtle Cover Image
Merci Suárez Changes Gears Cover Image
Staff Pick Logo
Like a Lizard Cover Image
Young Captain Nemo Cover Image
Garden Day! (Step into Reading) Cover Image
Flora Forager ABC Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Could there be a better young adult historical fiction storyteller than Stacey Lee? The Downstairs Girl rings with honesty about the plight of Jo Kwan, living in Atlanta in 1890 in an abandoned basement below an unsuspecting family that runs one of the town's newspapers. Jo becomes the unseen advice columnist "Dear Miss Sweetie" as she uses her considerable wit to answer letters - all the while working as a maid to a privileged and cruel teen. Romance, racial inequities and family squabbles all result in Lee's outstanding development into a glimpse of Atlanta's storied genteelness. This is a sure winner! - Maureen